Calvert Cup

Calvert Cup report 2017

It was a nice sunny red hot day for this year's Calvert Cup Competition, which was kindly hosted by Treeton.

There were some very close and exciting matches, and both sets of finalists had some close games in the lead up to the final.

Alan Goddard and John King just won a very close semi-final game 21- 20 against David Hamilton and Bob Burridge from Firbeck, after 5 dead ends with the score locked at 20-20.

Mark Gilbank and Graham Chambers won through a tight semi-final match against Roy Gilbank and Paul Schofield 21-19.

In the final, Mark and Graham proved too hot to handle and ran out 21-12 winners of the tournament.

We would like to thank Treeton Bowling Club for supplying some excellent refreshments throughout the day, and we are sure that all who attended had an enjoyable day.

Left: League Secretary David Hamilton presents Graham Chambers with the Calvert Cup
Middle: The winning pair of this year's Calvert Cup, Mark Gilbank and Graham Chambers

Right: The runners up, Alan Goddard and John King

July 29, 2017

Calvert Cup 2016

Kings' green was a little on the slow side due to last week's downpours but the rain held off and the disappointingly small crowd witnessed some excellent bowling.

Alan and John took control of the first Semi at 5-5 to go 17-7 up. Denis and Brian managed three singles but Alan and John hit back with two singles and a double to win 21-9.

The second Semi was a classic game of two halves. Roy and Paul were leading 15-9 but Kev and James scored twelve points without response over the next six ends to win 21-15.

There was some brilliant bowling in the Final on both short and long marks. Kev and James went into a 16-8 lead, Alan and John recovered to 16-15 but Kev and James kept the pressure on to win 21-15

Semi Final 1(left) : Brinsworth's Brian Bitting and Denis Crossland with Treeton's Alan Goddard and John King

Semi Final 2 (right): Brinsworth's Kev Coney and James Howard with Treeton's Paul Schofield and Roy Gilbank.

Runners Up


Special thanks to Margaret for the chip butties!

June 20, 2016


Calvert Cup 2016

The entry form for the 2016 Calvert Cup can be accessed by following the links below:

Word format

Calvert Cup 2015

The 2016 Calvert Cup will be held at Kings BC, Wath Park, Moor Rd, Wath On Dearne, Rotherham. S63 7RW (Opposite Wath Rugby Club).

Rounds will be on Sunday June 12th commencing at 11.00 am and the Semi Finals and Final on Sunday June 19th commencing at 2.00 pm. The draw will be made at the green on the day, including Finals Day so entrants must sign in at least 15 minutes before start time.

The competition is a Pairs Knock Out and is open to any bowlers who have played in the Friday Doubles League. Pairs can be from different teams and different clubs but must have played in a Doubles match in the current season.

Entry Fee is £5.00 per pair with £3.00 being paid as Green Fees to the host club. There will be no refunds. The Winning Pair will receive £50.00, Runners Up £30.00 and losing Semi-Finalists £10.00.

Calvert Cup Finals Day, 2014

The Calvert Cup for 2014 was held at Valley Park on Sunday, 8th June and Sunday, 15th June.

Treeton club mates, winners and runners-up

Semi-finalists John King, Alan Goddard, Paul Robinson and Adam Roddis

Calvert Cup Finals Day

Calvert Cup Winners

1977 E. Goodacre & S Root
1978 G. Naylor & R. Roddis
1979 F. Davies & I. Raison
1980 C. Sykes & G. Sanderson
1981 C. Sykes & G. Sanderson
1982 D. Collumbine & G. Pick
1983 P. Griffet & G. Wraith
1984 J. Brown & A. Mellor
1985 D. Collumbine & A. Twigg
1986 B. Whitehouse & C. Burton
1987 A. Marshall & D. Ellis
1988 A. Jones & C. Jones
1989 B. Ellis & D. Ellis
1990 B. Whitehouse & D. Spooner
1991 D. Collumbine & P. Collumbine
1992 A. Jones & C. Jones
1993 A. Peace & P. Leary
1994 A. Jones & K. Cusworth
1995 N. Peace & D. Bateman
1996 E. Parkin & J. Hepplewhite
1997 P. Holmes & K. Cusworth
1998 P. Gilliver Snr & P. Gilliver Jnr
1999 D. Bateman & R. France
2000 B. Whitehouse & C. Burton
2001 P. Leary & D. Knights
2002 Not held
2003 G. Chambers & J. King
2004 C. Lennox & N. Lennox
2005 D. Seaton & J. Coulson
2006 B. Whitehouse & G. Chambers
2007 D. Seaton & J. Coulson
2008 G. Chambers & M. Frith
2009 D. Seaton & J. Coulson
2010 M. Liversidge & P. Crowder
2011 G. Chambers & M. Gilbank
2012 G. Chambers & M. Gilbank
2013 G. Chambers & M. Gilbank
2014 G. Chambers & M. Gilbank
2015 M. Gregory & T. Brown
2016 K. Coney & J. Howard
2017 G. Chambers & M. Gilbank
2018 P. Gilliver & J. Howard